No Mons

No Monster Club – «Dublin»


CF Records

Out of stock

SKU: CF01 Category: Tags: ,

Product Description

CF Records is proud to present ‘Dublin’, a kaleidoscopic insight into the world of No Monster Club. Although the fourteenth installment into the oeuvre of Bobby Aherne, this is his most definitive vision yet; capturing the sound of a full band, created in an actual recording studio (as opposed to a bedroom, disused antique shop or underground tunnel), and released on 12″ vinyl.

After the success of the retrospective ‘Young Guts Champion’ EP in early 2011, the past year has seen the band featuring in NYLON and Vice magazines, touring Europe (memories of which they share in the video for ‘Be My Bone’), and playing shows alongside the likes of Ariel Pink, So Cow, Sic Alps, Jeff The Brotherhood, Wavves, Girls Names, Abe Vigoda and HEALTH. Most peculiarly, their music has amassed a cult following amongst the bleach-haired Australian sect, soundtracking several acclaimed surf movies from the likes of Riley Blakeway and Chippa Wilson.

In between all of this (and his dayjob, as a professional storyteller in Ireland’s National Leprechaun Museum), Aherne found time to make tracks for the countryside, alongside his Grand Pocket Orchestra and Ginnels bandmates Mark Chester (bass) and Paddy Hanna (drums). Nestled inside Acorn Studios at the foot of Kildare’s mythical Hill of Allen, aided and abetted by their spiritual guru/producer Poggy Dillon, these ten tracks were finally brought to life… from the sun-glazed yé-yé stomp of ‘Be My Bone’ to the swelling harpsichord psychedelia of ‘Parish Sports (Once Everyone Is Happy)’, the punk-rock barndance finale of ‘Heart Or Culture’, and the victorious closing dirge ‘Summertime Psalm/Childhood’.

This is an album of just two choruses, as it is one which favours progression and unpredictability over structure and repetition. This is an album which celebrates the home, friendship, and family… but which also lauds the joys of being lonely in a strange place. This is an album about life, death, love, hate, friends, enemies, history, the future, freedom, constriction, losing yourself, finding yourself, trying to be a hero but ending up a villain, and trying to make a good album but… well, that one’s for you to decide!

This is ‘Dublin’.

1. Uncle Porky
2. Be my Bone
3. Waking my Idols
4. Parish Sports (Once Everyone is Happy)
5. The Only Living Boy in Mallorca
6. Mas Afuera
7. Friends and Pets and People
8. Heart or Culture
9. Asleep in the Grotto
10. Summertime Psalm/Childhood

Additional Information

Weight 250 g